Superchunk

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Superchunk

I've been hearing about Chapel Hill's Superchunk for more than fifteen years, and my favorite musician, Bruce Cockburn, actually included the band's name in one of his song lyrics, but I finally downloaded its No Pocky for Kitty (Matador, 1991) and was BLOWN AWAY by it. It's buzzy, noisy, feedbacky alt-pop that makes me long for the early nineties again. It reminds me a little bit of Veruca Salt (but with male vocals) -- that sorta speedy, race-to-the-finish-line approach, with short songs and an almost dissonant approach to song structure really appeals to me. I don't know how I have gone so long without hearing this! Check out this album's "Tower," which has an almost "Stranglehold"-like groove, but with a more frantic drumline and almost muted vocals. Love it.

I'm currently downloading On the Mouth (Matador, 1993) from eMusic.com and can't wait. I'm so pumped that I can't sleep, and it's long past my bedtime. Grr...I think I'll have to wait 'til tomorrow to give this next album a listen.

Anyone else experience the joy of Superchunk?
    Last edited by scrivener; October 3, 2006, 12:56 AM.
    But I'm disturbed! I'm depressed! I'm inadequate! I GOT IT ALL! (George Costanza)
    GrouchyTeacher.com

Re: Superchunk

I listened to mp3 samples of EVERY track on No Pocky for Kitty. It did absolutely nothing for me. Upon that brief first impression, every track sounded practically alike. I guess I'm not one for dissonant song structure.

If you're into alt/pop/rock music (or some hybrid of those genres), check out Tikiyaki's former band, Fuzzbubble. Good stuff! Along the lines of Superchunk, though not "noisy" and far from dissonant. Actually quite melodic and catchy compositions.
    sigpic The Tasty Island

Comment