Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible Future Hawaii Teacher

Hello,
    I am a college student about to graduate with my degree in social studies education from Niagara University. Coming up in a few weeks is teacher recruitment day (TRD). TRD is a day where a number of school districts from around the country come in looking for teachers. One of the districts that will be attending and looking for social studies positions is the Hawaii BOE. So I have signed up to learn about life in Hawaii and its school system.
    I have lots of questions that I hope I can find answers to here at HawaiiThreads. From your opinions of a white mainlander teaching history to what housing would work out best for the budget of a teacher. With your help maybe I can be better prepared for an interview and have a better idea of life on the islands. I don't want to be just another uneducated haole. Thanks for everything in advance.

Re: Possible Future Hawaii Teacher

Aloha e Haole... interesting choice of handle! I hope it means you won't take yourself, nor the characters on this board, too seriously! Welcome to the 'Threads. Congratulations on your pending graduation!

I'm fascinated to learn that Hawaii will be up there fighting for fresh-faced new teachers to bring back to the islands. It's definitely clear proof that finding, let alone retaining, qualified teachers is a big challenge here.
    Originally posted by Haole
    From your opinions of a white mainlander teaching history to what housing would work out best for the budget of a teacher.