My Situation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Situation

We were stationed there for 4 years (1999-2003) at Schofield barracks (army base) and I was a pastor at kaneohe congregational church while attending wayland baptist university. Wife is in the army here in new york, that is why we moved FROM oahu. She is geting OUT of the army in march 2006 (not far off!). Army life SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS when you have her job (personnel).
    I see her less than 3 hours a day, and she works 2-3 out of 4 weekends a month.
    Army life SUCKS (did I say it enough?!)

We will be moving BACK to oahu at our OWN EXPENSE again in 2006. I have sold 80% of my belongings (books, videos, etc) on ebay, and the rest has been sold at garage sales we have had here on the base.

We plan on selling off the rest of our large stuff (we dont have much furniture!) that being
    an entertainment center, couch and loveseat, washer/dryer, and queen size futon, and and king size bed (seely posturepedic mattress and boxsprings) and that is all that we have in the way of furniture!

We didnt buy a lot because when you buy nice things in the army, the movers DESTORY them. Whats the point in buying nice stuff, when the cheap labor the movers hire could care less if they RUIN it? No point....

I will probably ship our clothes via us mail PACEL POST. I can ship 70 lbs of things for $40 at the post office (movers want $1 a pound + fees!) Needless to say, we are going to be moving SUPER LIGHT! We are also selling off the rest of our videos and dvd's that we own on ebay.
    The furniture and home theatre system/dvd players will sell FAST here on the base. They will be the LAST THINGS to go.

I dont care if we have to sell every @#$@#$!$!@$#!@#!@ thing we own, I despise army life (note I am a x veteran - I was a army parachute rigger/packer!). Again, keep in mind that we do not have a lot of personal possessions, as we did not buy alot of stuff while serving in the army.