Former Mainlanders, HOW'D YOU DO IT?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Former Mainlanders, HOW'D YOU DO IT?

My husband and I are thinking of moving from Lake Tahoe to perhaps Kauai and just trying to get a feel for all it involves (lots and lots!!!) read some positive threads on here and some not so positive (understandable). We do understand (I think) just how expensive it will be but still have a few questions and would be very apprciative if anyone could help, thanks

I have been a preschool teacher for over 23 years and want to know any thing anyone can share re: prescools jobs, wages for teachers, are there any preschools that are under the DOE?

also we have an 11 yr and 15yr old what is the heath insur. like on the islands, here in california we have healthy families which is not like medical your income needs to be higher but not so high that you could pay for health insur on yourown.
    Are there web sites that I can visit to also find out about middle and high schools for may two children (in Kauai)

Maybe if there are any families who have made the move from the mainland to the island they would'nt mind putting in there 2 cents

hope the ?s make sense this is all so new to us and really almost scary but we really need this change and don not want to wake up and be too old to really take a chance and LIVE!

Thanks Nan

Re: ECE teacher an family planning a move??

Here's a link to public schools on Kauai. Given all the flooding in recent weeks and the devastation that even the national TV news is covering, are you SURE you want to move to Kauai? To get a flavor for Kaua'i living, go online to the Kaua'i Garden Isle News. You can find out about housing prices, employment, what's going on.

Miulang
    Last edited by Miulang; March 19, 2006, 08:19 AM.
    "Americans believe in three freedoms. Freedom of speech; freedom of religion; and the freedom to deny the other two to folks they don`t like.” --Mark Twain

Comment