Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

another teacher arriving (and some unusual questions)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• another teacher arriving (and some unusual questions)

Hi all-

Have been reading the posts with great interest! I am from Michigan and interviewing with Hawaii recruiter in late April. Boy do I have questions for her! I am an experienced teacher (5 yrs of Kindergarten and elementary Art) and post divorce, need a great big change of scenery! I have been living in this freezing climate and after this past winter, I say NO MORE!!!!
    If I can't afford to ski anymore, then what is the point????

I have been to Hawaii and have always loved it. While you're there you think- how cool would it be to live HERE? But then you go back to your life and never actually pursue it... (until you get a divorce and think- "get me out of this small town!") I have been reading about daily life in HI for a while and asking people what the worst thing is about living there and if I can handle that then I figure it's worth a try.

Anyway, I have a few questions for any locals who have the time to answer. Would greatly appreciate your thoughts:
    1. What is this I hear about "Condotels"? Are they basically hotel rooms for sale as living spaces? Do I have to rent it out to guests of the hotel and if not, can I live there with my big friendly dog? I've read this is a booming trend in Honolulu.
    2. How about the singles scene for the mid 30's crowd? Anything good going on or is everyone already married with children by this age?
    3. Are there beaches close to Honolulu where I can take my dog to throw the ball without making anyone mad? (Trying not to buy car and doubt THEBUS takes 90 lb black labs to North Shore.)