Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can anyone help with Special Ed info?

Hi,
    We are planning on moving to Oahu this Winter - Spring and I'm trying to find out about Special Education for my high school dd. I have found great activity groups that sound wonderful, a welcome thing for her but also a great chance to meet other families in the same situation. Here there aren't any fun, safe activities for teens who are mentally challenged.
    It's a little harder to find out which schools have good programs, supervision (for safety's sake - as a SpEd kid teasing etc come up before during recess, after school times...so I worry) And of course she'd be a "new" kid too. Hope I picked the right forum to post -I'm a newbie here.

chris

Re: Can anyone help with Special Ed info?

Originally posted by chris729
    Hi,
    We are planning on moving to Oahu this Winter - Spring and I'm trying to find out about Special Education for my high school dd. I have found great activity groups that sound wonderful, a welcome thing for her but also a great chance to meet other families in the same situation. Here there aren't any fun, safe activities for teens who are mentally challenged.
    It's a little harder to find out which schools have good programs, supervision (for safety's sake - as a SpEd kid teasing etc come up before during recess, after school times...so I worry) And of course she'd be a "new" kid too. Hope I picked the right forum to post -I'm a newbie here.

chris
    http://www.k12.hi.us/%7Egtstate/Index.htm

Hope this helps

Comment

Thank you for the link - I forgot Special Programs can also mean gifted/talented..my dd is at the other end of the spectrum with mental retardation. I appreciate your helpfulness though..its a great link for those programs.

chris

Comment