Advice anyone???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice anyone???

Okay, I'm considering moving to Oahu in approximately 2yrs 2 months and have some questions and need some advice. I'm 24 and currently living in Atlanta, GA(which I'm getting sick of!!) and need to get out of here. I was on Oahu two months ago and fell in love with the place and people. I came to the realization that if I'm so sick of this place and am constantly vacationing(I mostly go to the Caribbean, been to South America, and most recently Hawaii) why not move. But since I'm an accountant and there are few opportunities for accountant's in the Caribbean, I thought Hawaii would best suit me because they do have a decent business industry. So anyone, is there a demand for accountant's in Hawaii? I've researched a couple of firms there, but wasn't sure if there was an actual demand for them. I've also thought of opening my own practice. Not quite sure.

Next, I would be moving with my girlfriend of six years(maybe my fiance by then?). I'm African-American and she's Korean so I was wondering how people feel about interracial couples in Hawaii? Over here in GA we get some stares here and there, but since we're so used to it, we don't really care anymore. I read another thread about how African-American are received so that gave me some insight.

Lastly, since I wouldn't be moving for two years, what advice can you offer about how I should start planning? In terms of money, cars, housing, etc? Where should I start planning and do you think I could live/afford to live on Oahu? I mean, I can't complaing about my salary and I'm just hoping the salary in Hawaii is comparable, especially considering the cost of living. Any comments would help.

Re: Advice anyone???