Personal Yachts, Planes and Helicopters

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Personal Yachts, Planes and Helicopters

I am originally from the USA but have worked in Asia for over 10 years now. After starting several companies I plan to return to the USA and am considering Hawaii as a place to live.

Currently, I live in Taiwan where because of remnants of martial law and the ongoing Cold War tension between Taiwan and China, there are no personal boats, planes or helicopters allowed. You basically are not allowed to own or operate your own boat (unless it is small,e.g., towable and unmotorized) or plane (only hand gliders) or Helicopter (unless it is a remote controlled toy).

So I am excited at the possiblity of being able to have my own boat or plane or helicopter. I am a newbie and I cannot afford anything over $1 mil (can't even afford half that at the moment), but I want to know for less than $1 million is it possible to get an ocean going vessal that will not get tossed around by the open seas and I can use it for inter island excursions? What about an airplane? Anyone have one? Helicopter? Is it fun to use to get away?

Is it possible or have you ever used any of these to go the mainland or is it too far?

I can understand some people might not want to come out and say on this forum they have their own airplane or ocean going yacht, if that is so, please send me a PM or tell me about your friends experience.

Re: Personal Yachts, Planes and Helicopters

I have a surfboard!

Hawaii has its share of harbors, heliports, airports, and private owners are permitted to use them. I don't know how big a boat one would need to get from island to island, but if you're a sailor in any sense of the word, then you would probably already know the answer to that question.