Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Foreign languages that you'll love learning and why?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Foreign languages that you'll love learning and why?

Here are some of the foreign languages that I would love to learn or learning. And here they are in no particular order:

Chinese- in Cantonese because my Grandma speaks it and I had to learn it when I small

Spanish- I want to learn because I love learning all types of languages

Hawaiian- which I learned in college and I took two semester of it. I am still learning the language because it is my passion and I also studied the Hawaiian culture while I was in college. Anyone wants to converse with me?
    Aloha Kakou, maluhia a me aloha mau loa (Hello everyone, peace and love forever)

Re: foreign languages that you'll love to learn or learning and why?

Fun subject AChow and your language listing almost looks like a break down of my ancestry.

First and foremost 'olelo. Why? Because it's part of my ancestry and an important part of who I am. It makes my tutu proud to see one of her mo'opuna care about the language and culture as much as I do. She is from the time that it wasn't good to embrace being a kanaka publicly. She lost a lot of her identity back in those days. It makes me feel so good to see and hear how very happy she is when I talk in her native language to her. She tells me all the time, "You should have went Kamehameha like your mother." But what can one do when their father moves them to the conus?

I'm always reaching out to people I admire in the Hawaiian community and I love learning from people who know more than me. One never stops learning when it comes to 'olelo and Hawaiian culture. And it definitely makes me feel more complete as a person.