Aloha from Redmond, WA!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aloha from Redmond, WA!

First thing - thanks for all the wonderful threads, stories, and help that has been offered on this site. I look forward to all advice and comments coming my way, and I do apologize up front - I tend to be quite open with my life, and I guess it can be tedious to read!

To properly introduce myself, I'm a 30 year old filmmaker/wedding videographer, and I'm planning to visit Maui sometime in early December 2007, for a preliminary visit, but we're 95% certain that we're moving there within a couple months after that, if not in December itself. We consists of my wife, who has had 20 years of apparel experience, and my two kids, who will be 3 and 4 this year. My mother will be coming in December, though she is undecided if she's going to move herself. We're pushing her to do so, when she retires next May, but it's all up in the air for her.

We've done a bunch of reading online, avoiding a lot of tourist-related info and getting the lowdown from other hopefuls and some residents, and we're somewhat versed on the usual scary stuff like cost of living, education system, island fever, and slower pace of life. The latter of which is the most attractive attribute to us. We are still worried about making a living to sustain a modest, humble livelihood, but we're trying to save as much as we can. We're not well-off, and I mean that in the most literal sense. Paycheck by paycheck, but now we have real motivation to scrape and save to help with the relocation.