Testing in Kindergarten

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Testing in Kindergarten

First of all, I'm all for testing the kids, as much as we can, whenever they should be measured. I'm no expert, so I just go along with whatever the teacher and the schools say. Cool by me.

HOWEVER, last night I spent nearly 1/2 hour, during bath time, explaining to my daughter why she should not be too worried about it. Seems like the emotions surrounding the notion of testing are being delivered with the anxiety message, rather than a positive, can-do, "let's attack the test", attitude. Teachers should be confident in their ability to teach their students, and this confidence should be reflected in the way the students perceive such challenges as mandatory testing, college entrance exams, SAT's, etc.

I told my daughter that she is gonna do well, and she should believe that she will score high because she is a good student. We talked about how much we read, and all the math games we play. Then I mentioned how important it was to go to bed early, and eat all her veggies, so her brain is working real good. And I told her that success is like a game in life. You have to play it as hard as you can, and not be intimidated by anything that could go wrong. In other words, DON'T BE AFRAID.

I started this thread with the hope of motivating other parents to encourage and motivate their kids to excel in educational endeavours, and to take an active role each night to ensure that homework, and all other issues pertaining to school, are talked about and completed each day.
    FutureNewsNetwork.com
    Energy answers are already here.

Re: Testing in Kindergarten

Originally posted by timkona View Post