PDA

View Full Version : Feedback on Craftsman tools

joshuatree
April 17th, 2007, 06:52 PM
Anyone used Craftsman tools on a regular basis? Any feedback? Better to invest in other tools like Dewalt or Makita instead? TIA

helen
April 17th, 2007, 07:00 PM
What kind of tools? Screwdrivers? Hammers? Pliers? Toolboxes?

joshuatree
April 17th, 2007, 07:14 PM
Guess that would help. :D

Sorry, was thinking more of power tools, a power drill and a miter saw.

Da Rolling Eye
April 17th, 2007, 07:25 PM
Well....they are cheap. :D
Unfortunately, I've owned cheaper that was better. :confused:
Hand tools are great and Sears will honor all lifetime warranty returns on wrenches, ratchets and screwdrivers. It don't work with their power tools.

Btw, I've been using a Black and Decker cordless drill for the past 4 years with no problems. I like the "bayonet" style chuck and the torque limiter for running screws and such.

I've owned Craftsman power tools in the past and they all felt....flimsy, for lack of a better word and all of them fell apart to some degree within a short time. I'm talking saber saws, circular saws, hand sanders and drill motors.

If you can afford them, yeah, Makita, Dewalt, Bosch and others are your best bet for the investment.

joshuatree
April 17th, 2007, 07:34 PM
Appreciate the input. Yeah, I noticed Craftsman power tools were on average, cheaper. Thus I wanted to find out if they are a bang for the buck or better to invest a little more and get a higher quality tool. Sounds like avoiding Craftsman is better if I want tools that last.

blueyecicle
April 17th, 2007, 08:25 PM
I have had a Black a Decker cordless drill for 5 years. Never a problem!

But I have a weird story....Craftsman are warrantied for life...I used to know this old farmer he must have been 80.(4 years ago)
Well he had this very old Craftsman tool....at least 50 years old.
It broke...I wish I could remember exaclty what it was....