20/20 John Stossel's 'Stupid In America'

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 20/20 John Stossel's 'Stupid In America'

I think this program originally aired on 1/13/06. I just stumpled upon it on youtube, and wanted to post a link to anyone else who missed it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pfRUMmTs0ZA

Private or charter schools are better bets. Don't think we have school vouchers in Hawaii. But maybe after parents watch this video, they might demand it from our politicians. Its obvious to me that creating more competition for school choice is good, and unions are bad.

Re: 20/20 John Stossel's 'Stupid In America'

The voucher issue is a complicated one, and I have mixed feelings about it. If I had to choose a side today, I'd come down against them.

I totally understand the reasoning behind vouchers. My parents spent a lot of money they didn't really have (I was a scholarship student) to send me to a private school. If everyone had the option to choose a school, a lot of good things would happen.

However, the voucher system unfairly and unintentionally favors those students whose parents are better off. You can give parents in rural areas the right to send their kids to any Oahu school, but which of them will be able to do so, even if transportation is provided? Many of them have to get home right after school to take care of siblings, some of them have to get to jobs, and a lot of them don't even have homes: getting to school in Kaimuki from Nanakuli and getting back every day is impractical.

So the kids who can go elsewhere will, and the kids who can't won't, and who will be left at their schools?
    But I'm disturbed! I'm depressed! I'm inadequate! I GOT IT ALL! (George Costanza)
    GrouchyTeacher.com

Comment