What firewall do you use?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What firewall do you use?

For you broadband people, what software firewall do you use?

I have ZoneAlarm Pro (I know how to configure it, so I need the advanced features not found in the ZoneAlarm Free version). But I actually don't need a firewall, because my router has a hardware firewall (but you can't be too safe).
    How'd I get so white and nerdy?

Re: What firewall do you use?

I asked the same question this morning in the "Cable v. DSL" thread. I've been using McAfee's virus scan for three or four years with no trouble, so I'm leaning towards their firewall.
    http://www.linkmeister.com/wordpress/

Comment

My Linksys router also seems to put up a pretty strong defense, but I installed the free home version of ZoneAlarm just in case.

Of all things, I rely on it less to tell me when someone's trying to get into my computer than I do for it to tell me when something on my computer is trying to send data out. Though I run AdAware and Spybot S&D fairly often, you'll be surprise how quickly the weed of spyware can take root in your system.

The thing about ZoneAlarm is, although it has a very good rep and it's a very tightly designed product, there's the occasional horror story about how it somehow, mysteriously, clamps down your PC and doesn't let any network traffic in or out. Maybe it's a botched install, or a corrupted file, but the people who've been affected are quite vociferous online.

Comment

Originally posted by pzarquon
        The thing about ZoneAlarm is, although it has a very good rep and it's a very tightly designed product, there's the occasional horror story about how it somehow, mysteriously, clamps down your PC and doesn't let any network traffic in or out. Maybe it's a botched install, or a corrupted file, but the people who've been affected are quite vociferous online.
        Er, is there a suggested solution from Zone Alarm? Yikes!