Pop Wahnah Foooootball season is hea!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pop Wahnah Foooootball season is hea!

Is anyone else besides me a PWF parent? This is our third tackle season for my son. The first one I *hated* it, the second I fell in love with it. The work a parent has to do to get that team up and running! But what a beautiful sport (when the coaches are cool and the parents are cool and the kiddies are trainable). The discipline is a thing to behold. I love watching how skinny (er, sorry son; "cut") the cub gets after a solid month of conditioning. I haven't gotten used to watching my son get hit, though; don't expect ever to. I tell him to "run like you got your sister's $20 bill!"

Anyone here played PWF when they were younger? Anyone here a parent of the sport?

pax

Re: Pop Wahnah Foooootball season is hea!

Aloha Puai

I am a coach in the South Kona Pop Warner Club. I played for 4 years in PW as a child. Good fun all the time. I coach the midgets - 7,8,9 grades.

It's a problem keeping weight on the children in Hawaii. Speaking as a coach, I can tell you that diet is THE issue. Garbage calories like Rice just don't cut the mustard in a demanding sport like football. Better to feed him a giant banana split than 2 scoop rice. Or a baked potato with ALL the trimmings like sour cream, 2 kinds of cheese, chive onions, bacon chunks, drop of honey, and choke butter (not margarine). Along with a Rib Eye steak, and a salad. And make them eat ALL the salad.