Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is your vehicle to work?

^topic^

Since I'm a college student, I take the Route A bus from the Waipahu Transit to school (Heald College).

What about you?
    How'd I get so white and nerdy?

Re: What is your vehicle to work?

Like a great majority of Hawaii's taxpaying motorists... my car.
    I'm still here. Are you?

Comment

Either the "9" or the "A" going in the other direction.

Comment

Mini Cooper. Small, good mileage. Easy to park. Cheap. I drive everywhere for work anyway (I have 150+-mile days sometimes) and a big car is just retarded. If I didn't have to drive I'd bus it or ride a bike.

Comment

"Thank you for riding with MTA, New York City Transit. Stand clear of the closing doors."

Bing-bong!

Comment

Yes, Mel, but what kindof car? Dick, I didn't know you drove a Mini... although of course thinking about it now, it makes perfect sense.

Mike Leidemann just published a follow-up piece to an older article in which he proclaimed his loyalty to his 1990 Honda. The responses he documents contain many "me too" testimonials in favor of the trusty old steed over the latest and greatest.

I don't think I'll ever drive a new car. I used to love older American cars. My first car, picked up for $300 in 1991, was a 1974 Chevy Nova Concours. My dad helped me clean it up so well, it sold for $1,200 a little over a year later. My favorite car was a 1977 Hurst-Olds, a special-edition beauty.

Of course, as a dad I now have to be practical. While I now drive a boxy minivan, it follows my longtime preference for buying used rather than new. I'm hoping in the next year to upgrade my wife's Ford sedan to another van... but I'll be looking for something from before 2001. Though some of the newer models are pretty nice, the headaches that go with owning a brand new car (including the 'just off the lot' depreciation effect) are just something I'd rather avoid.

So, c'mon, fellow motorists, tell us about your ride!