Biking to work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Biking to work

For years, I have been thinking of commuting to work by bicycle. I live close to town, so theoretically it's doable. And it'd be a great workout. But as a long-time Honolulu driver, I know how Honolulu drivers usually treat bicyclists: with contempt. I'm afraid that if I tried biking during rush hour, I'd get run down in the first week. Has anyone tried biking to work? How is it?

Re: Biking to work

It depends on your route. If you travel congested thoroughfares particularly during rush hour, you might have the advantage as you'll be moving while most automobiles will be crawling! However, if you're looking at more narrow side streets where speeding, cutting in and blind turns are an issue, you'll be a target for sure. Time of day (available light) and weather are big issues, too... there may be some days bicycling just won't be a good idea.

I drive, but I used to bike a lot, so I have empathy for cyclists, and will generally give them room. Unless, of course, they bicycle recklessly or aggressively and themselves don't follow the rules of the road, in which case they're on their own!

Now I live in Mililani, so a town commute is a little rougher than I'd like. But I do want to get riding again.

Comment

I wish I can ride a bike. I can use the Pearl Harbor bike route that goes behind my house all the way to Honolulu (some friends of mine biked from Ala Moana to Waipahu Depot Road once, so it is doable).

But pzarquon, TheBus has those bike racks and if you want, you can take a bus to somewhere that is "easy" and bike from there.
      How'd I get so white and nerdy?

Comment

Somewhere I read that it's legal to ride your bicycle on the sidewalk in most (but not all) parts of Oahu. How do you know where it's not allowed? Is there a map somewhere that shows this information?

Comment

Originally posted by Eric