A record by Melveen Reed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A record by Melveen Reed?

I've been here for three years but have only generated 29 posts, which is sad, since I wanted to get to know everyone here, talk story, get homesick, etc. With some of the projects I'm wanting to do, I hope to be able to talk with many of you so I figured I would begin here again.

I am a kama'aina living in Washington State, and I'm a music journalist (soon-to-be-author), artist/producer, record collector/junkie, and an info freak. I've been a music journalist for 24 years, reviewing everything from soul to funk, jazz to punk, but have always shined the spotlight on music from back home, be it traditional or contemporary. I used to run a website called "Hawaiian Music Corner", which reviewed then-new music but also looked at some of the Hawaiian music and artists that may have been forgotten. I want to start a series of articles on my new website that will look at some of these old records, and have it be used towards a bigger book project. One publisher has seeked interest, but it's a way of at least getting the information out there.

Last week I was looking on eBay for whatever Hawaiian records were being sold, and I did a search for Melveen. However I came across a 45/7" single by someone named Melveen Reed. One, there aren't too many people I know named Melveen, and not one with a very similiar sounding name. I was a kid in the 70's and I remember her music very well on KCCN, and all of the telethon appearances she made, I was raised literally on her voice, the famous "country tita". So to see a record by a Melveen Reed came as a shock, so I did some research. Nothing. It was on the Ligaya label, looked it up again. Nothing.