Hello from Pennsylvania

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Pennsylvania

Hello everyone! I wanted to introduce myself, I am a teacher in Pennsylvania and I am looking into moving back to Hawaii. My husband and I were stationed on Oahu in the Coast Guard in the 1990's, and were both miserable after we left Sand Island for the mainland. We were living in the barracks on base, so I know that it will be much different being part of the community. We loved the weather, the attitude of the people, the cuisine, but also understand some of the drawbacks as well.

We have been trying to find a way to move back ever since the plane landed in 1995. My husband is currently attending Penn State and would transfer to UH if I get a job. I am planning a trip to the Big Island in October for an initial interview for a teaching position. Does anyone have any advice about teaching in Hawaii? I would appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance.

Re: Hello from Pennsylvania

We need teachers here badly - but don't expect to get paid very much. BOE took big hits budget wise this next 2 years due to bad economy here. and we have a governator that is just slashing everything. where would your husband be going to school if you are teaching on the big island?

good luck to you!
    "Democracy is the only system that persists in asking the powers that be whether they are the powers that ought to be."
    – Sydney J. Harris

Comment

I looked up the pay scale online, and it doesn't seem too bad for the area. Teaching isn't a job for someone looking to get rich, but I will be happy with being able to live modestly. Has it been changed recently? Pay is always a tough question to ask in an interview, but something you need to know when considering relocating. Thank you for the heads up.