Flash Memory cards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flash Memory cards

Anyone got any good or bad experiences with the various flash memory cards. The type used for digital cameras, PDA and whatever?

For me I have been using CompactFlash since August of 2003 when I purchased a Veo Capture 1300 that used it. At the time I purchased the camera I also brought a PNY 32Mbyte CompactFlash card.

Since then I picked up other cameras which are the Argus DC3200, the SiPix SC3300 and the Aiptek DV3100 and all three of them use CompactFlash to store the images.

And I got at least 15 cards ranging from 32MBytes to 512Mbytes from various brands which include PNY, SanDisk, Lexar and Memorex. For the most part I have been happy with what I got but I do have a couple of horror stories that related to the card itself verus the camera.

Case in point was the second card that I purchased a few weeks later which was a Memorex 32Mbyte card. When I used the PNY 32MByte in the Veo Capture 1300 I was having problems with the camera accepting the card, after a couple of times turning the camera off and on, it finally accepted the card and I could take pictures. When I used the Memorex 32Mbyte card it took longer for the camera to accept the card. Of course I didn't tell this to anyone so I accept it as a fact of life with the camera.

A month or two goes by and whenever CompUSA had specials on CompactFlash cards I would buy them. I purchased a PNY 64Mbyte and then later a PNY 128Mbyte card. The Veo Capture 1300 camera accepted these cards with no problem, so I just kept the 32Mbyte cards as just in case.

When I brought the Argus DC3200 around December, without thinking I used the Memorex 32Mbyte card on that camera and the camera accepted the card with no problem. Never needed to cycle the power. So I take some test pictures and I got really crappy shots. The URL below shows an example of this:

http://www.hawaiistories.com/gallery/album15/Cnxt0024