skittish new guy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• skittish new guy

just got here about a week ago...lots of smart people, not something i'm used to, being a rock musician...i'm a little intimidated and afraid to sound like a donkey, but i suspect it will pass...you all seem quite nice...aloha!
    Don't be mean,
    try to help.

Re: skittish new guy

Originally posted by jdub
    ...being a rock musician...
    Ooh, tell us more!
    But I'm disturbed! I'm depressed! I'm inadequate! I GOT IT ALL! (George Costanza)
    GrouchyTeacher.com

Comment

hmmm...well, i started gigging in honolulu back in the early 90's, moved to the Bay Area to make touring more economically and physically viable...moved back to honolulu in 2000 to be with my ailing father (who has since recovered) and now i'm a freelance writer with a couple of working bands on the side...

i had great deal of fun on the road for a few years, but,make no mistake...it's difficult in the extreme, when you're in an "indie" band, to do it with consistency and practically hopeless if you seek something beyond the simple gratification of playing shows...my band made somewhere in the neighborhood of $250K over the years, every bit of which went right back into the band...i worked for free (beer), and never saw a penny of revenue, other than in-trade stuff like hotel rooms, lift tickets and other perks...

thanks for asking scrivener! aloha!
      Don't be mean,
      try to help.

Comment

I love live music and wish I had more time for checking it out. Will you let us know if any of your projects hits the stage?
        But I'm disturbed! I'm depressed! I'm inadequate! I GOT IT ALL! (George Costanza)
        GrouchyTeacher.com

Comment

again, thanks for caring...i have a regular gig Downtown, but i'm reluctant to self-promote...lately my mantra sounds something like this: "anonymity and plausible deniability..."