help with relocation/jobs info please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help with relocation/jobs info please

We will be relocating BACK to oahu from the mainland. I am 36 years old, am married, and have a 5 year old son. Looking for information that might help us!

I was a youth pastor in kaneohe for 3 years (2000-2003) while wife was stationed at Scholfield Barracks, and I attended Wayland Baptist University (Pearl City) and ICGS. I am a permanently disabled veteran (20%) and receieve a check each month.

We have about $55,000 in the bank, and wife will be leaving the military in March 2006. The army life SUCKS at war time, and we have been a miltary family for 10 years, and its time for a MAJOR LIFE CHANGE.

We will be moving back courtesy of the army (they will be paying to ship our household items and vehicle BACK to oahu), and we are totally debt free! I have a current hawaiian drivers lisence, and a hawaiian bank account, so that might help me seen as less of a haeloe.

We are looking for a decent, yet "inexpensive" (both in the same sentance on OAHU?!) place to live. I am unfamiliar with the private housing things there on the island. I look at HUD housing, and also at
    subsidized housing. What are the differences? I see that the subsidized housing is NOT hud housing, and is based on income. Has anyone use/using/has used the subsidized stuff?

I have several applications for housing areas, and they all are
    subsidized (see the list at http://www.hud.gov/apps/section8/res...atename=Hawaii)

I will be a full time student at Wayland Baptist, while trying to work either full time or part time. Wife will be working part time/full time and we will have to enroll our son in school.