Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Kamehameha Day: Meaningful or Just a Day Off?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kamehameha Day: Meaningful or Just a Day Off?

I say you don't need a reason to have a holiday. We live in Hawaii and state-sanctioned days off are good for the economy and for our collective mental health. We have the longest life-expectancy in the nation; I believe attitudes like mine contribute.

However, I confess that today's holiday is personally quite meaningless to me. I never take a moment to reflect on Kamehameha's achievements or on what he means to the state. I never watch the parade. I don't participate in any of the festivities. I may walk down to Kamehameha Shopping Center and get a McFlurry, though. I mean no disrespect to the Great nor to his People; except for having a day off (and I'm a teacher on vacation so I don't really have that, either), today's commemoration has very little significance to me. I know this is the case for a lot of people with Good Friday, a holiday that does have serious meaning to me (though I don't think it should be a state holiday!), so I guess it all evens out.

So, what about you? Meaningful, or just a day off? Be honest--the poll is anonymous!
    Personally Meaningful
    21.43%
    Just a Day Off
    28.57%
    Meaningful, but Not a Day Off
    28.57%
    Neither Meaningful NOR a Day Off
    21.43%
    Last edited by scrivener; June 10, 2005, 09:53 AM.
    But I'm disturbed! I'm depressed! I'm inadequate! I GOT IT ALL! (George Costanza)
    GrouchyTeacher.com

Re: Kamehameha Day: Meaningful or Just a Day Off?

Well, it's not a day off for me. I do much appreciate the free-flowing traffic, though.

King Kamehameha Day brings the Pan Pacific Festival. Performances at Ala Moana and at the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center, then a block party in Waikiki tonight. More performances at both locations tomorrow and Sunday, with the grand finale parade through Waikiki Sunder evening.