Plantation Mentality

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plantation Mentality

Being a lifelong Hilo resident I have found out from traveling around the state and from people who move here that Hilo (people on the eastside of the Big Island) people are the most unfriendly to outsiders( not only the haole ones). They comment on how it is hard to get jobs or co-workers keep you out of the loop because you weren’t born here. I myself have noticed the difference between people on the neighbor islands or even Kona that show more “aloha” than people in my hometown. Maybe it’s because we are not exposed to visitors like the other islands or it could be “the big fish in a small pond” deal …who knows? A friend from O’ahu once told me that he thinks it’s because that a lot of Eastside (of the BIG ISLAND) people come from old plantation families who past down from generation to generation the hate and distrust of outsiders a kind of “plantation mentality” and he says that he can always pick out a Hilo person because of this. Now I’m not putting all of us in Hilo down , I believe my friends theory on “plantation mentality” because my parents are from Kona and were independent farmers who never grew up in a “racial” camp working for “da man”. They also were mainland educated and took us kids “out of the small pond” many times. I know many people here that welcome outsiders and most have that common background of having families not brought up in the plantation mentality.
    Is it the same in the former plantation areas on other islands?

Sorry to piss-off anyone....Aloha!
    Listen to KEITH AND THE GIRLsigpic

Stupid people come in all flavors-buzz1941
    Flickr

Re: Plantation Mentality