Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aloha From Nebraska!

Aloha Everyone,

I was actually looking for something else on google and found all of you! What a wonderful surprise for me especially since I been so homesick for Hawaii.
    I have been gone for 16 years come January. We first moved to Iowa where my mom is from and then moved to Nebraska in 1991. I live with my husband and 4 children in a country home on 10 acres just north of Grand Island, NE. I grew up in Palisades in Pearl City and Mililani. I miss Hawaii so much in the winter! Right now there is over 2 feet of snow on the ground and it is so bitter cold! I think the high this week was like 8 degrees and below zero with the wind chill!!!!!
    I am a stay-at-home mom to my 4 kids ranging from 8 months to 12 years old. I am also a scrapbooking consultant for Close to My Heart. My husband and I are saving to bring the kids to see my island home within the next 2-3 years. Long time to wait but tickets for 6 not cheap!
    My dad still lives in Palisades so at least we got a free place to stay!
    The thing I miss most aside from da people is all da ono food! I cook as much local food as I can and there is a store about 3 hours away that ships in local food. Frozen just not as good, though. I had sushi and sashimi for the first time in 10 years when we went to Vegas in October. I made a pig of myself! I was so full I could hardly walk back to the hotel! My dad told me I had to go to the California for some local kine food, but we never made it downtown so I missed out this trip! Would be so mcuh better in Hawaii anyway.
    I look forward to chatting and sharing with all of you and hearing some wonderful stories!

Mahalo for this site!
    Dayna

Re: Aloha From Nebraska!

Aloha, Dayna!

Midwestern winters, after growing up in Hawai`i? As a former Iowan myself, you have my sympathy (which is as deep as the snowfalls there sometimes.)