Beginner's ukulele?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner's ukulele?

Any advice for a complete beginner on where and what to buy in a decent, yet inexpensive uke? I want something better than what I can buy at Hilo Hattie's (i.e., no blue dolphins or palm trees painted on the front ) but I also don't want to spend big bucks on a Kamaka either. You know, something to try and learn chords on, to play around with and amuse me and my baby daughter. Something to help me decide if I like it enough to invest in a better one on my next trip; or that I won't kick myself for wasting a ton of money on every time I see it in the back of the closet.

Can I get something that fits that bill for about $100? I'd guess for that price I'd probably be looking at something made in China rather than locally, correct? Where would be a good place to start and what should I look for? I saw quite a variety at the swap meet yesterday but frankly was a bit intimidated.

Thanks in advance!

Re: Beginner's ukulele?

Originally posted by NoCal Boy
    Any advice for a complete beginner on where and what to buy in a decent, yet inexpensive uke? ...
    Can I get something that fits that bill for about $100? I'd guess for that price I'd probably be looking at something made in China rather than locally, correct? Where would be a good place to start and what should I look for? I saw quite a variety at the swap meet yesterday but frankly was a bit intimidated.

Thanks in advance!

Costco here is selling a nice ukulele for between $80-$90. How about your Costco?
    Aloha from Lavagal

Comment

In Hilo I found one for my son for about $40 + $10 for a case. So I guess in Honolulu any music store might be cheaper or there's always ebay .
      Listen to KEITH AND THE GIRLsigpic

Stupid people come in all flavors-buzz1941
      Flickr

Comment