Kaleponi hello

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kaleponi hello

Such a pleasure to find you all. I've been playing slack key for a few years, visiting the islands a little longer. Someone on the www.taropatch.net music board mentioned HawaiiThreads and I came right over.

About 10 years ago I put down my rock'n'roll guitar and quit playing music. I just figured I was burnt out.

A few years later when my wife _made_ me accompany her on a business trip to O`ahu I reluctantly came along.

When we turned on the TV in the hotel, the first thing I saw was Keola Beamer, and the sound of one slack key vamp changed my life. It took me a year or so to figure out how to start making those sounds (I'm a reeeaaaal slow learner) but the first time I played a simple slack key tune for my wife she got a little tear in her eye, so knew I was headed in the right direction.

Since then I've listened almost exclusively to Hawaiian music, played slack key and ukulele every single day, done workshops, and even played with a few of my heros. The musicians I've met have been warm and generous to an amazing degree, and I've tried to repay their kindness by spreading the word about slack key and Hawaiian music to everyone I meet.

Best wishes to you and yours,
    Fran

Re: Kaleponi hello

Aloha and Welcome Fran!

Auntie Lynn
    Be AKAMAI ~ KOKUA Hawai`i!
    Philippians 4:13 --- I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Comment

Welcome, Fran!
      I've been lurking at taropatch.net for quite a long time and have always enjoyed your posts, so I'm sure you'll be a very welcome addition here on HT.
      Have fun!

That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

Comment

Welcome, Fran --- here's hoping that the best of the TP posters join us here on HT (you are amongst 'em.)

Comment

Aloha Fran
          Listen to KEITH AND THE GIRLsigpic

Stupid people come in all flavors-buzz1941
          Flickr

Comment

Aloha to you in Cali’.