Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Teaching in Hawaii

Hello everyone!

I've had a dream for a number of years now, and that dream is to teach in Hawaii. I've done my research, and I'm well aware of the fact that teachers are overworked and underpaid in Hawaii, but this is true for teachers in general. I am a teacher by trade, and I did not enter this profession with the hope of become rich - in fact, I teach because it's my calling! Anyway, I'm hoping to get some 'insider' info on teaching in Hawaii. So here goes...oh, and please forgive me for asking so many questions!

1. Although I am an American/Canadian citizen, I have not lived in the States since I was a child. I have a teaching degree issued by a Canadian Institute, and I know that it's a lengthy process to become certified in the state of Hawaii, and that PRAXIS exams are required for public schools. Are PRAXIS exams required for all schools (public, private and charter)?

2. Since I don't plan on moving to Hawaii for a year and a half, should I start taking the PRAXIS exams now, even though I might not work in the public school system?

3. Also, what is the difference in salary for teachers in public, private and charter schools?

4. How hard is it for a teacher to get a job teaching elementary school children, specifically in Oahu? I've heard that there is a demand for teachers in a few specific disciplines, and not necessarily in regular elementary classrooms. Should I try to have a teaching job lined up before I arrive?

5. I know that the cost of living is very high in Hawaii, but as a single person living in Paradise, would I be able to survive comfortably on a teacher's salary? I'm currently teaching ESL in Korea to get rid of my student loan debit so that I can move to Hawaii with as little debit as possible.

6. Lastly, what about ESL teaching in Hawaii? Is there a demand for that?