School Lunch Program

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• School Lunch Program

This has yet to make the news, so you are hearing it from me first. I am a School Foodservice Manager at a Hawaii high school and we were told by the DOE School Foodservices Branch that starting next week the Federal Goverment will be conducting audits at 40 random schools to make sure Hawaii is counting thier meals right. Because of this the feds are withholding 80% of funds to SFS to run the program. If 5 of the 40 schools fail the audit the State will not have any Fed funds for the school lunch program. Without these funds the schools will have to pay the cost of lunches. The schools cannot pass the cost on to the parents , so @ $3.00 a lunch a school serving 500 meals a day will have to pay about $1000 dollars a day for the rest of the year. This is major because only 5 schools can fail and the WHOLE State fails. This meaning the 200+ public schools ( including charters) will have to pay for the students to eat.

Opinions please....

BTW, in a MOCK audit conducted last week 8 schools failed.
    Last edited by alohabear; March 8, 2006, 05:14 AM.
    Listen to KEITH AND THE GIRLsigpic

Stupid people come in all flavors-buzz1941
    Flickr

Re: School Lunch Program

I work in the public school system and my school did go thru one of those audits last year. Fortunately we passed. One of the big issues has to do with the way lunch and breakfast systems are sold and the way federal reimbursements are made. One thing that can greatly assist with that is if all the schools get on a computerized ticket system. Unfortunately those things cost money, and since the Feds have taken money away there is no way for the uncomputerized schools to get the system unless they fund it themselves.