Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Robertson Woodworks and Termites in Hawaii!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Robertson Woodworks and Termites in Hawaii!!!

I am an avid wood product enthusiast and just fell in love with Koa wood here in the Islands. I craft my own items mostly as a hobby these days as I'm retired but I recently renovated my house (I know, in this economy I must be nuts to over pay!) but my wife and I really wanted to enjoy our home and we've been putting it off for so long now that we decided to finally do it.

We hired a general contractor who we knew a little and he introduced us to Robertson Woodworks and the owner Tom Robertson. In my previous life I used to be an architect in Georgia and when we moved to Hawaii about 8 years ago, we met a lot of people in the industry so it was odd that I never heard of this company before. This should have been warning sign number 1 but we trusted the general so we consented to allow Robertson Woodworks to do our cabinets. The work was good, we were happy. Its been over a year now and we noticed there were these little black dots all where the wood was and the wood was getting soft. After further review it was due to TERMITES! I called Terminex and they checked and confirmed that so far it is just the cabinets. Based on the damage the Terminex technician theorized that the "cabinet guy used termite wood on my house!"

I called down to Robertson Woodworks and his office. The person who answered the phone was rude and said it was my problem now because its out of warranty. I went down there to Robertson's office which is located by the airport and was just shocked to see they keep their wood outdoors!!! In the open!!! The owner wasn't in at the time but one of the workers mentioned that termites is a problem in this area because of the sand and age of buildings.