How is Hawaii Web Design industry?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How is Hawaii Web Design industry?

I'm moving there and I'm a teacher but learning fast to do web animation. I wonder if there is freelance work to be had in this field locally. I know I can get work online (in other parts of the country), but can't find any hawaii companies online to speak of. Where are the hawaiian web designers/animators???

Re: How is Hawaii Web Design industry?

I'm an amature web-designer, and have done quite a few freelance jobs, not many of them for hawaii resident though. Not sure if there is a market for design here or not, but I do know that it is not hard to get the jobs when they present themselves.
    808blogs.com- Start your own blog now, for free!
    kazaru.808blogs.com - my blog!
    http://kazaru.com - personal site DOWN ATM

Comment

There was a time when it seemed like you couldn't throw a rock in this town without hitting someone who does web design. Where folks would put "web design" on their resume if they had FrontPage installed.

There are still a lot of freelance designers here, but I'd bet most of them don't make a living at it. It's something done on the side, next to a "real job." The fact that so many of us are willing to work for peanuts doesn't help. Most of the real money in web development is now going toward traditional PR and marketing firms, who fold it into a larger plan under "new media" or somesuch.

I'm not sure how much demand there is locally, either. True, you could live here and do web design for people anywhere, and I know people who are doing just that. (Lucky bastards.) But I also know companies here who have found they can get a decent, customized web site from shops in India or Southeast Asia for peanuts. That global marketplace, she cuts both ways!

Comment