Looking to move in a few years

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking to move in a few years

I'm looking to relocate to paradise, but I understand there's no avoiding the expense. Living in NY I'm used to high cost, but it seems Hawaii is even more expensive. I am do a few different things and cannot seem to pick a career and stick with it. I am a massage therapist, cook, waiter, bartender, IT professionally certified, certified martial artist, guitar player, Qi Kung and meditation practitioner, and I enjoy doing all these things. I just get bored after a while and need to leave it, but I always come back. True I may need a therapist, but I'm getting used to the idea that I may never make alot of money. And since I'm going to be poor anyway, I figure why not be poor in paradise. Atleast when I'm not working, I can head down to the beach or hike in the mountains. I'm wondering realistically how much will I need to have saved. If I left now I can go with 7,000. I figure I can get a job working in a restaurant or hotel, but are the wages ridiculously low? I think it would be tough to have a restaurant job lined up without having a residence there. I must be out of my mind, but I feel drawn to a lifestyle that is simple, laid back and all about people. ~Brad

Re: Looking to move in a few years

Originally posted by bstagy
    And since I'm going to be poor anyway, I figure why not be poor in paradise.
    Oh Gawd, not again!
    Be advised, that attitude will not make you any friends in Hawai`i and will, more likely, get you into some big trouble.
    Reality check: