Aloha mai...I'm new, but not really!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aloha mai...I'm new, but not really!

You'd think that my first post would be in here...but nooooo...it had to be in a thread about Merrie Monarch! Go figure! Anyway, I've been a lurker here for the past year or so before I decided to finally bite the bullet and start posting.

Aloha everyone, my name is Kalikolehua, a name which reflects my father's roots from the Big Island. I have an American name, but I choose to go by Lei Liko, a nickname given to me by my late tutu, to preserve anonymity.

I'm in my mid-late 20's (depends on what you consider is the cutoff) and I currently work in the non-profit sector begging all the rich people, corporations, and foundations for money so that the suffering and less fortunate have a chance to share in opportunities.

My late father was a retired Army SGTMAJ, and I was born in Fort Bragg, NC. My father's family hails from Naalehu on the Big Island. His background was Japanese and Hawaiian, the son of an immigrant and a maoli. Times were tough back then, so he was eventually adopted by a loving Filipino family, where I received my last name. My mother was born in Badoc, Ilocos Norte in the Philippines, but immigrated to Hanamaulu, Kauai when she was a young girl. I am the youngest of 6 between my mother and father, and also now the youngest of 2 stepsisters through my mom and stepdad. Luckily, when I was born, my father was nearing retirement, so I was blessed with not being an Army brat. I was 3 when we moved back, and am proud to say that I am a product of 13 years of Catholic school in Honolulu. My education continued at Indiana University-Bloomington for one year, and then completed my studies at UH-Manoa, where I am in the processing of obtaining my MEd.