Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How come our roads get potholed so fast?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How come our roads get potholed so fast?

A friend of mine who'd recently moved to Honolulu from America was astonished at the poor condition of the roads here. Back where he was from (someplace in the Midwest), pavements last for years and years without potholes, but here it seems like a newly surfaced road can't go six months before it breaks down.

l wondered whether the road maintenance guys here use cheaper, lower-quality materials. Given the low-bid nature of government contracts, I wouldn't be surprised if that was it. Unless the contract specs call for it, the bidders will use the cheapest stuff they can get away with. And if DOT doesn't hold 'em to a higher standard, then that's what we're stuck with.

I'm no transportation engineer. But does somebody know the answer to this question?

Re: How come our roads get potholed so fast?

Originally posted by Glen Miyashiro
    A friend of mine who'd recently moved to Honolulu from America was astonished at the poor condition of the roads here. Back where he was from (someplace in the Midwest), pavements last for years and years without potholes, but here it seems like a newly surfaced road can't go six months before it breaks down.

l wondered whether the road maintenance guys here use cheaper, lower-quality materials. Given the low-bid nature of government contracts, I wouldn't be surprised if that was it. Unless the contract specs call for it, the bidders will use the cheapest stuff they can get away with. And if DOT doesn't hold 'em to a higher standard, then that's what we're stuck with.

I'm no transportation engineer. But does somebody know the answer to this question?
    Well I am so let's analyze this. Some possibilities:

Poor quality aggregates. I'm thinking local rock may lack hardness.

Poor quality bituminous materials. Not likely as it is imported and spec'd.