Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Considering a move to the Big Island's east side... Puna?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Considering a move to the Big Island's east side... Puna?

Thanks for reading this and taking your time to respond! I truly appreciate it and I apologize for this LENGTHY post.

My family and I currently live in Anchorage, AK. I am an elementary teacher (although I’m perfectly happy to look into other career paths – tourism, service...) and my husband is nearing the completion of his BA in Business Management. We are a young family (We are 26 and our children are ages 1 & 4) and my husband and I are both just starting our careers - meaning we're ready to move out of Alaska and make a fresh start elsewhere...

We're looking into the Puna area. Realistically we wouldn’t be moving for another 1-2 years, either summer 2007 or summer 2008. We are very laid back and adaptable and we tend to make friends easily. We don’t consider ourselves religious and we’re on the liberal side of many/most issues– SO is Puna the right place for us to establish ourselves? Also we will be relocating with about $25,000 either to help us live until we find jobs, or hopefully for a down payment on a home.

Here are some reasons we are thinking of moving (PLEASE dispel any myths/misconceptions that we have) :

Single-family homes seem attainable for middle/working class (plenty in the lower $200,000 range in Puna), slow-paced life style, warm weather, plenty of outdoor activities (hiking, fishing...), growing area, commutable distance to Hilo...?

Are the above ideas accurate?

We are realistic that Hawaii/Puna is not a “stress-free perfect paradise.” We do understand there are many drawbacks about Puna (or Hawaii in general)– Again, PLEASE dispel any misconceptions: