dealing with business loss

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dealing with business loss

i just shut down my store. it was an internet gaming cafe that was open for almost 4 years. i wanted to continue it, but just couldnt afford it anymore. we did everything, pc repair, websites, internet gaming on 18 computers. xbox, ps2, 360, gamecube gaming, dvd rentals, cell phones. friends thought the idea wouldnt work, and i guess in the end they were right. business wasnt bad, just not enough to float the boat.
    ive noticed that alot of people here are intelligent, and are in business/were in business.
    im now dealing with the aftermath of closing up shop.
    how did you deal with day to day life and the transition from being business owner for years and looking for a job?
    any comments are appreciated.
    Aquaponics in Paradise !

Re: dealing with business loss

Hellbent...sorry that things didn't work out. I'm a small business owner and I know the above and beyond commitment it takes to run one. Lot's of sacrifice with sometimes little reward. After 20 years of pulling things along I sometimes fanticize about being "just an employee" again.

As for the aftermath, I suggest that you network, network, network. Beginning with everyone you know. Let them know you are back in the labor pool and ready to put your skills to use. Some employers might think of you as "damaged goods" (as in you'll never be able to be a nice follow my directions employee again). Truth is it's the willingness to go above and beyond that drives us, entrepenuer or employee...it's hardwired. Simply put, you'll work harder than most. With your business experience you have several distinct skill sets to market. More skills should make you more marketable, and in a tight labor market you should land on your feet soon.