Add one more from TX!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Add one more from TX!

Hello and Aloha, I'm Mike from Austin! I will be moving to Oahu this summer to take a job teaching high school math and I am counting down the days!
    My complete lack of evidence is proof that the conspiracy is working

Re: Add one more from TX!

Aloha Mike, welcome to HT. Where will you be teaching high school? Have you been familiarizing yourself with the islands? How will you win over the hearts and minds of Hawaii's teens?
    Aloha from Lavagal

Comment

Hi Lavagal! I will be at Waianae High on the west coast of Oahu. I have been doing relentless research on the region (figured I would learn about the other islands after I arrive) and am looking forward to the challenges that this school will present. I have 4 years experience teaching math (I'm 30) at two of San Antonio's poorest inner-city urban districts - homeless students, non-English speakers, one or both parents in prison, drug addiction, etc. and believe it or not I enjoy working with this demographic. As for hearts and minds, it is my experience that when the students see that you geniuinely care for them, they will usually make the effort.

Any advice? Any other teachers out there?

Thank you!

Mike

Comment

Originally posted by MountainBikeMike View Post