Hawaii Food Bank Distribution

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hawaii Food Bank Distribution

I live at Mayor Wrights. In the nine years I have lived here, I've never stood in line for distribution of food, by the Hawaii Food Bank. After witnessing last month's madness from my car, I wanted an up close experience. I went today. ssssSSSShhh! I will go every month from now on! Now I know why they act like animals. Da food is excellent!

read my blog for the rest....

http://www.hawaiistories.com/lynn
    Be AKAMAI ~ KOKUA Hawai`i!
    Philippians 4:13 --- I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Re: Hawaii Food Bank Distribution

That was a great journal entry. One of the things about this online journaling thing that fascinates me so very much is the chance to read about lives that are so very different from mine, about worlds I have no experience in. When the observations come from someone as clear-eyed as you, Lyn, I don't just think I'm learning about you, but about the world in general, too. I am not a regular reader of your journal, but I always learn something from it when I do check it out.

Before I was a teacher, I was a social worker, and I had a weird job: I was on-call twenty-four hours a day, six days a week. I got paid room and board (Pzarquon and Kilinahe stopped in and visited me once in my office/house in West Loch) plus an hourly wage when I was actually working a crisis intervention case (usually juveniles picked up for status offenses or minor, non-violent law-violations). The "board" part of that compensation was food dropped off by a fellow employee, picked up at the Food Bank. I'll always consider the Food Bank a friend. You know, social workers get paid very little, especially considering the difficulty and importance of their jobs, and I was paid little even for a social worker. Without the Food Bank's contributions, I'd have had a difficult, difficult time of it.