Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Island fever?

Hello,

My wife and I are moving to Maui (I know not ANOTHER one ) she has family there, we've been there before and really enjoyed the weather and the people. We are both very open minded and know we will not be able to have as many things as we have over here were ok with that we have to much 'stuff' anyways and are looking to simplify our lifestyle. We have lived all over Washington and found that we really enjoy the simpler lifestyle and the warm weather. I am headed down there on the 29th to setup household and start work at my job and get settled in before my wife and son (8 months) join me. I am a General Contractor, however I will be working as a finish carpenter down there. My wife is a RN (labor and delivery). We both have already interviewed for our work and have been accepted. We are taking basically a 1 year working vacation to see if we like the islands before shipping anything down. Or doing something crazy like buying a home in a place we don't want to be. My question isn't so much about money I think we'll make enough to be comfortable, but more along the lines of Island fever and how to prevent it? I've heard that if you can make it 9 months on the island its smooth sailing after that. What do you do to keep the 'fever' from setting in? I've known more than a few couples who went down to Hawaii (some with children) that ended up coming back with broken marriages. Just dont want that to happen to me.

Thank you for all your help.

Rob
    Robert J. Simmons

Mr. Construction
    'The difficult I do immediately, the impossible just takes a little longer'

Re: Island fever?

Life is full of stressors, no matter where you are.

I think those couples who broke up and blamed it on a move to Hawaii were probably not doing all that well in the first place. If it wasn't the move to Hawaii that dealt the final blow it would have been something else.