Naming Storm Systems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Naming Storm Systems

If a tropical storm forms halfway between Hawaii and Mexico, how does it end up being named Flossie?

For the most part, Hawaii's weather is boringly wonderful, but I am a self-proclaimed amateur weather goddess fascinated by atmospheric pressure, tropical depressions (monthly!), and freakin' odd weather systems such as tornadoes that hit NYC subways.
    Aloha from Lavagal

Re: Storm Systems

Originally posted by lavagal View Post
    If a tropical storm forms halfway between Hawaii and Mexico, how does it end up being named Flossie?
    http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/aboutnames.shtml
    “First we fought the preliminary round for the k***s and now we’re gonna fight the main event for the n*****s."
    http://hollywoodbitchslap.com/review...=416&printer=1

Comment

I was hoping to start a conversation. Half way between Hawaii and Mexico, and neither a Mexican nor a Hawaiian name was used? Thanks for the link, but it really doesn't answer the question or advance any theories.
      Aloha from Lavagal

Comment

Can you name 6 Hawaiian/Mexican names that start with "F"? Maybe you can talk NOAA into changing their list.

Comment

I think they would probably be spanish in origin? Francisco, Felicia, Ferdinand, Fernando, Felix, Flora, but I'm just guessing that these might fit the bill. I think someone had a favorite cow and wanted to name a storm after her.

I thought this would be a pleasant exchange of ideas, but I am flummoxed so far.
          Aloha from Lavagal

Comment

Felix is used in the Atlantic. I have the feeling that some names get retired. I didn't see any names of famous hurricanes.

I thought this would be a pleasant exchange of ideas, but I am flummoxed so far.