Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I think I'm learning Japanese (I really think so)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I think I'm learning Japanese (I really think so)

Sing along now! And I apologize to everyone who now can't get that song out of their head.

Today was my first day of formal Japanese class. Whoa. What have I gotten myself into!?! The teacher speaks Japanese a LOT and I only knew two words! This is a beginners' class, and I am a total beginner, though I have been trying to prepare myself over the past several weeks by studying at home. I was lost within 15 minutes of the start of class.

Lots of the other kids in my class seem to have taken Japanese before.
    They offer Japanese in high school now?? The girl next to me has had 4 or 5 years of Japanese class, and she's like 19 years old! And I swear the guy sitting other side of me is some sorta samurai!! Are they just there for an easy A?

The best I could remember to say when the instructor asked me a question was "Hai". I was horrified! And for some wierd reason, my brain was busy trying to translate English into Spanish, while my mouth was trying to recite Japanese!!!

Is this a normal '1st day of college' thing? Or a normal 'learning a 3rd language' thing? I've kinda freaked myself out, and all I want to do is study my face off for tomorrow's class... or burn my books and fly home for my Mom to take care of me! Okay, the former is the best option, but, wow, I've been out of school for a loooong time!

I know it'll be fine, and I'll learn, and I'll be glad I did. I guess I started this thread to share my experience, and seek any advice thats out there, and maybe hear about others' experiences learning a new language.

Anybody out there have any advice?
    ~ This is the strangest life I've ever known ~

Re: I think I'm learning Japanese (I really think so)