Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie to the forum and I'm moving to Hawaii

Aloha,

I wanted to get everyone’s input on my plans for moving to HI.

First, a little about myself. I am a 24yo professional from and currently living in Kansas City, MO where I have lived all my life. I have been in the professional world full time since I was 22. My degree is in Technical Writing with a minor in Computer Information Systems and I have worked for software and manufacturing companies alike.

I am planning on moving to Oahu this summer because it seems the most likely place to find solid work. I have been to Hawaii twice and I will be visiting this Feb. once more before I make the move. I plan on coming down for the move with between $3k and $5k. I will not have a car or any type of transportation and I am not worried about Rock fever or homesickness. I will be moving with minimal stuff for the first few months and take it from there. I realize I will probably have to do some restaurant work while I hammer out a job which I’m ok with (I have done plenty of that in the past). I plan on finding a month to month apartment when I first get down there and then use that as my base of operations for finding a better place and a solid job, maybe even go find someone to live with on roomates.com.

Does this sound like a pretty solid initial plan? I have never made a move like this and it’s a bit overwhelming. My main concern is making it work financially. I would appreciate any comments, suggestions, tips, or whatever.

Thanks,
    Zach
    Last edited by jzh797s; September 23, 2008, 04:59 AM.

Re: Newbie to the forum and I'm moving to Hawaii

Originally posted by jzh797s View Post
    [...]
    I am planning on moving to Oahu this summer because it seems the most likely place to find solid work.
    Serious question...how did you arrive at that conclusion?