Thread: Jury Duty

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Jury Duty

So I have to report for Jury Duty on Tuesday. I got called once before, but I was a full-time student and was exempt. This time I have to go. I'm not sure what to expect. Everyone keeps telling me they're sorry. I don't really want to go, but I know it's my civic duty and all that. Plus, I'm not working, so I don't have anything else going on right now. You get one free pass and why use it now, you know? Maybe next time I'll have just started a new job or I'll be sick.

So...what's it really like? What do they ask you? If you've been on a jury, is it really boring, or kind of fun? No one my age has ever gone before (they've all been in school or just haven't been selected), and my parents can't remember much, except that my mom got stuck on a trial about a improperly installed stove that dragged on for three weeks. She obviously didn't tell us about it until after it was over, and we all thought it was some cool case to be so long, and then when she told us it was about a stove, I remember thinking I didn't ever want to sit there for 3 weeks and listen to that.

Can't think of anything creative this time

Default Re: Jury Duty

Quote Originally Posted by surlygirly View Post
    So I have to report for Jury Duty on Tuesday. I got called once before, but I was a full-time student and was exempt. This time I have to go. I'm not sure what to expect. Everyone keeps telling me they're sorry. I don't really want to go, but I know it's my civic duty and all that. Plus, I'm not working, so I don't have anything else going on right now. You get one free pass and why use it now, you know? Maybe next time I'll have just started a new job or I'll be sick.