Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cash for Clunkers

I read this article and was disgusted.

Now as a former car salesman I would have been hardpressed to turn down a customer wanting to upgrade his older gas guzzler truck for a newer gas guzzling truck, however there should have been greater restrictions on this program. The word, "Abuse" is written all over this program and the loopholes were probably big enough to...well drive a truck thru!
    Life is what you make of it...so please read the instructions carefully.

Re: Cash for Clunkers

Originally posted by craigwatanabe View Post
    I read the same article.... and I had the opposite reaction. I'm glad that the feds are taking a closer look at all the rebates that were given out and scrutinizing those transactions that appear to be ineligible. I don't know about you, but I would rather that investigators be aware of these fraudulent deals and to take action on the matter rather than everyone being blissfully ignorant and for the fraudsters to get away scot-free.

According to the AP article, it says;

In scores of deals, the government reported spending a total of $562,500 in rebates for new cars and trucks that got worse or the same mileage as the trade-ins — in apparent violation of the program's requirements.
    When you consider that the govt. doled out $2.877 billion in rebates in the Cash for Clunkers program, the questionable transactions figure out to slightly less than 0.02% of the total rebate given out. So relatively speaking, that is a very small amount. Heck, more fraud happens in Medicare.

Now as a former car salesman I would have been hardpressed to turn down a customer wanting to upgrade his older gas guzzler truck for a newer gas guzzling truck, however there should have been greater restrictions on this program.
    As the same article goes on to say;