Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30

Thread: Time Warner; New Software/Format

  1. #1

    Angry Time Warner; New Software/Format

    The new Time Warner Oceanic format for controlling the digital cable TV debuted on my system today and I'm not liking some features.

    Volume is not accessible from the cable box and setting up recording times is now much harder to set up to the minute as far as start time and stop time. Such as I like to set up some shows to stop recording at 6:59 so the next show can be started on another channel.

    Once again somebody took something that worked and "improved" it.
    You can apply any terms to any situation to suit your perspective.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wah-key'-key
    Posts
    10,390

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Yep, I woke up to a whole new "program" to learn. Now to find the time to watch channel 311 and try to figure everything out. Ugh!

  3. #3

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    I've found a feature that seems like it may be helpful. When you zip through the commercials on a recorded show and stop a few seconds into the resumed program, the machine backs up to the last 5 seconds or so of the last commercial.
    You can apply any terms to any situation to suit your perspective.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Smokin' in da windward crib
    Posts
    6,721

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Quote Originally Posted by Fritz View Post
    Volume is not accessible from the cable box
    I just got the new Navogator system two days ago, and it's working fairly well for me. Just like before, for the basic volume setting use the volume buttons on the digital box itself. The setting will appear at the bottom of your screen, so set it all the way up and from then on control it from your remote.
    With the old system, volume always reset to mid-level whenever there was a power outage at your house. Not sure if Navigator will do that too.

    and setting up recording times is now much harder to set up to the minute as far as start time and stop time.
    Most of your Record settings should have transferred automatically, they claim. I had to reset a few of mine. I set most of my favorites to record NEW episodes only, but what's weird with the new Navigator is that that certain shows record every single episode, new or repeats. Some shows that I like air old episodes several times a day, and Navigator records every single episode, every day. That, of course, eats up tons of DVR memory, so I constantly have to check my list and erase those unwanted episodes. Weird.
    I also note that some of the shows I've recorded show up on the list with a strange green symbol next to the them, and others don't. Makes no difference if they're new or old episodes, either. Again, weird. No idea what that symbol means.
    And some recorded shows say NEW when it's a new episode, but other new episodes don't say NEW. Huh?

    Quote Originally Posted by tutusue View Post
    Yep, I woke up to a whole new "program" to learn. Now to find the time to watch channel 311 and try to figure everything out. Ugh!
    There's also a special Navigator training section on Oceanic's website. (I haven't used it yet.)

    Quote Originally Posted by Fritz View Post
    I've found a feature that seems like it may be helpful. When you zip through the commercials on a recorded show and stop a few seconds into the resumed program, the machine backs up to the last 5 seconds or so of the last commercial.
    Well, it backs up about 5 seconds, but doesn't have to go back into a commercial. Wait another second or two before you hit Play and it'll just go to where the show restarts.
    I notice the fast forward speed only goes from 1 to 3, where it used to go to 4. And if you hit the Stop button, it no longer gives you the Skip To The End choice. I used to use that fairly often; like on late night talk shows when I wasn't interested in the guests but did want to hear the musical guest at the end of the show, it was easy to hit Skip To End and then Reverse for just a few seconds. Can't do it any more. Bit of a time waster.
    Last edited by LikaNui; April 13th, 2011 at 12:17 PM. Reason: Fixed a darned typo.
    .
    .

    That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Ours appeared yesterday, and it works OK, except that for some reason my amplifier, which used to turn on when the cable box is activated, now has to be turned on separately.

    The 5-second backup when fast forwarding is a standard feature on Mainland cable systems.

    Oceanic was supposed to premiere the new system in a demonstration/press conference last week, and cancelled it at the very last minute.
    Burl Burlingame
    "Art is never finished, only abandoned." -- Leonardo Da Vinci
    honoluluagonizer.com

  6. #6

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    OK, I changed the audio from HDMI to Dolby and now I have an on-screen variable volume control.
    You can apply any terms to any situation to suit your perspective.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ewa Beach
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    I dunno, I like it.
    The old one felt clunky.
    Grab some goggles and answer to nobody.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Smokin' in da windward crib
    Posts
    6,721

    Angry Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    I'm still having lots of problems with the DVR.
    • It records some programs with no audio at all.
    • It records some programs on regular digital channels instead of HiDef, so the images are squeezed, even though I set it to record on HiDef.
    • It records programs I never wanted recorded.
    • And to make room for those unwanted programs, it deletes programs I had saved!

    HORRIBLE.
    .
    .

    That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Waimanalo
    Posts
    771

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    In early 2007, I started to hear about Navigator, introduced at that time into some test markets, to the universal dismay of TWC customers who tried it. I gather that the point was to save licensing fees that TWC had had to pay to Scientific Atlanta, previously. Navigator is the TWC in-house product. I saw the handwriting on the wall -- didn't like the look of the future with TWC, and decided to jump ship to DirecTV. I'm happy with that decision. The DirecTV firmware for their satellite boxes is not without problems, but it is incredibly better than the TWC firmware as I recall it from 2007. (I have had no direct experience with Navigator, though.)
    Greg

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Smokin' in da windward crib
    Posts
    6,721

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    After my post an hour ago, my system has now failed again. Screen imjages were coming in at half size, 3/4 size, all over the place. I called Oceanic and finally got through after about 7 minutes of recorded sales pitches and another 15 minutes on hold. The person had me try a dozen different things, then finally said to try just rebooting it and that they'd call me back. It took 15 minutes to reboot, and the problem still exists. I've called them back and I'm on hold.
    Oh, and I'm MAD AS HELL.
    .
    .

    That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Smokin' in da windward crib
    Posts
    6,721

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Someone finally came on the line. They say there's nothing they can do and that a serviceman needs to come out here... the earliest time is A WEEK FROM TODAY.




    Oceanic Time-Warner SUCKS.
    .
    .

    That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ewa Beach
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Seriously, it's like you all are using a completely different service than me. . . I've yet to have -any- problems with it since the change over.
    Grab some goggles and answer to nobody.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Smokin' in da windward crib
    Posts
    6,721

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Update.
    When the first person hadn't called back, I called Oceanic and was able to leave a message for a call-back from the service department. That call came to me about half an hour after the first person had set up the appointment for next week.
    I explained the problem to the second person, and that it seemed to be happening on KHON and KHNL the most. He told they'd been having problems on those two stations all day. I asked why the first person never mentioned that and he had no answer. He went on to say they were working on the audio problems and hoped to have it fixed soon. Audio?! I told him again that my problems were video, not audio! He put me on hold for several minutes, then came back and said that they'd switched the HD channels to the regular channels while they are working on the problem. Maybe, maybe not. All the other HD channels were fine except KHON and KHNL. He didn't know if they'd just changed those two or all of them. So the repair people aren't talking to their own service department, and no correct answer can be given to the customers. IDIOTS.
    And now, a little after 9pm, KHON is okay but KHNL is still bad.
    I'mk keeping the service appointment for next week, just in case.
    .
    .

    That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wah-key'-key
    Posts
    10,390

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Navigator certainly isn't an upgrade, afaic. However, I'm not having any major problems with it. It's. just. soooooo. slooooooow. Analogous to dial-up vs DSL!!!

    Does anyone else have sound issues on ch 1008? Both pre and post Navigator I have to crank the sound level up to at least 40, sometimes louder. Then the commercials come on and blow out my ear drums! This doesn't happen with ch 8, or any other channel. My normal sound level is about 15. Strange...

    ETA: LN, I just remembered that, since Navigator, I've had occasional loss of audio/video on 1008 (KHNL). And, it just happened on 1005. A/V returns if I change channels then go back to the offending channel.
    Last edited by tutusue; April 28th, 2011 at 09:33 PM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Smokin' in da windward crib
    Posts
    6,721

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    1003 KHON and 1008 KHNL are still not working.
    Tutu, I've noticed that sound level problem on various channels. And sometimes I turn on my system and get distortion on all channels; I have to turn off the cable then turn it back on and usually the distortion goes away.
    Here's another one that I'm curious if anyone else has seen. On KHON 1003, for the past several months (even before and after Navigator) most of the commercials run and then replay the last few seconds again before moving on. That happens to at least 75% of the KHON commercials. Anyone else seen that?
    .
    .

    That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wah-key'-key
    Posts
    10,390

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Quote Originally Posted by LikaNui View Post
    1003 KHON and 1008 KHNL are still not working.
    Confirmed! I watched the royal wedding on 1007 instead of 1008 because I wanted to see it in full screen mode.
    Tutu, I've noticed that sound level problem on various channels. And sometimes I turn on my system and get distortion on all channels; I have to turn off the cable then turn it back on and usually the distortion goes away.
    I've noticed sound levels minimally differ between channels but 1008 is...maximal! My remote really gets a work-out when I'm watching that channel.
    Here's another one that I'm curious if anyone else has seen. On KHON 1003, for the past several months (even before and after Navigator) most of the commercials run and then replay the last few seconds again before moving on. That happens to at least 75% of the KHON commercials. Anyone else seen that?
    I've not noticed that but will watch for it.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ewa Beach
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    He went on to say they were working on the audio problems and hoped to have it fixed soon. Audio?!
    I actually did notice an audio thing last night on a couple of channels; lower tones were -really- loud, higher tones not so much. . . thought it was my TV. Regardless, it seemed to solve itself after an hour or so.
    Grab some goggles and answer to nobody.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wah-key'-key
    Posts
    10,390

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Quote Originally Posted by tutusue View Post
    Confirmed! I watched the royal wedding on 1007 instead of 1008 because I wanted to see it in full screen mode.
    [...]
    Finally called OTW today because I couldn't fix my screen display problem based on their instruction. Even with help from a real person I couldn't get back to full screen mode on a few HD channels. OTW guy said it was probably my TV but I've never even accessed the settings. That was done for me when the set was delivered. I made adjustments and now it's full screen but tops of heads are cut off. That didn't happen before which tells me it's an OTW problem, not a tv set problem. Frustrating.

    After the power outage a little while ago it took the HD box about 10 minutes to reboot. I don't remember that happening pre-Navigator.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Smokin' in da windward crib
    Posts
    6,721

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Right, the re-boot times are quite long with the new Navigator system.
    My repairman come over today and said they're having tons of picture problems and it's definitely their fault, not your TV, Tutu. The repairman said a lot of the people on the service phone lines aren't being told what's happening. Best thing is to have a repairman come to your place.
    Also, for problems with KHNL 1008, switch to 1908. That's an OTW secret. It won't show up on your channel guide, but just hit 1908 and it'll come on. Let me know, k?
    To temporarily change the picture size, hit the # button on the number pad; it also says Aspect above the button. Click it once or twice until the picture becomes square, not full width, and the image will be clear.
    .
    .

    That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wah-key'-key
    Posts
    10,390

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Quote Originally Posted by LikaNui View Post
    [...]
    Also, for problems with KHNL 1008, switch to 1908. That's an OTW secret. It won't show up on your channel guide, but just hit 1908 and it'll come on. Let me know, k?
    Yep, that works. I'll need to reset my screen display to test whether or not 1908 is full screen mode.
    To temporarily change the picture size, hit the # button on the number pad; it also says Aspect above the button. Click it once or twice until the picture becomes square, not full width, and the image will be clear.
    OTW guy had me try the # button (mine says HD/zoom). It didn't work. That's when he said it way my TV. I'll call OTW and make an appt. with a repairman. Thx for the heads up.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Smokin' in da windward crib
    Posts
    6,721

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    You're welcome, Tutu. Please keep us posted.
    Last night channel 1007 (KGMB) was off the air for a bit. I tried analog channel 007 and it was fine, so just the HD version was out.
    Also, a little after 9pm I checked my DVR list and it showed that it was recording Hawaii 5-0, then I checked the channel guide and it showed it wasn't recording it, and sure enough just now the DVR list showed it hadn't recorded it. Totally bizarre. And this is third time it's happened to Hawaii 5-0 since OTW changed to the Navigator system.
    I'm afraid to find out how much more can go wrong.
    .
    .

    That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wah-key'-key
    Posts
    10,390

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Ok, I switched my TV screen back to normal and here are some observations:

    1908 is in full screen and appears to be HD
    1008 is not full screen and doesn't look much different than 8
    1003, 1005 are not full screen and appear to be HD
    1006, 1007 are full screen and look no different than 6 and 7

    Other HD channels I watch are full screen but it just seems the HD quality has diminished across the board.

    Time to call OTW!

  23. #23
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Smokin' in da windward crib
    Posts
    6,721

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Quote Originally Posted by tutusue View Post
    Ok, I switched my TV screen back to normal and here are some observations:
    1908 is in full screen and appears to be HD
    1008 is not full screen and doesn't look much different than 8
    1003, 1005 are not full screen and appear to be HD
    1006, 1007 are full screen and look no different than 6 and 7
    Tutu, remember that to see something clear and full-screen it has to have been recorded in High Definition. If not, you'll see the smaller (but clear) image on the screen. Check your list above a few separate times during the day and night.
    For instance, right now 1003 IS full screen HD, but ith's the Oprah show and it's recorded in HD.
    Right now 1005 IS full screen and HD; it's Don't Forget The Lyrics, which I think is a fairly new show and recorded in HD.
    Right now 1006 is NOT full screen; it's Judge Judy; don't know if it's recorded in HD or not, but the guide does say it's a new episode.
    Right now 1007 IS full screen; it's a year-old episode of Jeopardy.
    1008 is the channel that has nonstop problems, thus OTW's 1908 secret.
    What you'll also notice is that certain shows are full screen HD but some of the commercials are smaller screen non-HD, then back to the show in full screen HD.
    Make sense?
    (By the way, that's true of ALL the HD channels, not just the networks.)
    I sure don't recall that happening before this new OTW software, but maybe it did and I just don't recall. Dunno.
    Anyway, you can't go wrong having the OTW serviceman come make sure your TV is setup correctly for their new software.

    Time to call OTW!
    Oh yes!!!
    Last edited by LikaNui; May 3rd, 2011 at 05:02 PM.
    .
    .

    That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wah-key'-key
    Posts
    10,390

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Quote Originally Posted by LikaNui View Post
    Tutu, remember that to see something clear and full-screen it has to have been recorded in High Definition. [...]
    Yes, I'm aware of that. OTW is in my building now fixing what I assumed to be storm damage but maybe others in this huge complex are having similar HD issues, too. I'll wait a day to call just in case everything returns to normal after OTW is finished.

  25. #25
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Palolo valley
    Posts
    136

    Default Re: Time Warner; New Software/Format

    Quote Originally Posted by LikaNui View Post
    Someone finally came on the line. They say there's nothing they can do and that a serviceman needs to come out here... the earliest time is A WEEK FROM TODAY.




    Oceanic Time-Warner SUCKS.
    I've worked at OTW, subscribed to Dish Network and now Directv. Directv is best by far for HD channels, whole-house DVR,ease of use and value for the price. And their customer service people are competent.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •