Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34

Thread: oceanic tv remote adjust

  1. #1

    Default oceanic tv remote adjust

    How can the color contrast and similar adjustments be made via the hand remote control?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    No. California
    Posts
    2,556

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    shouldn't those kinds of adjustments be made right on your TV not the cable? The Oceanic remote only controls what is transmitted through the cable, not your TV. at least I think so...........
    "Democracy is the only system that persists in asking the powers that be whether they are the powers that ought to be."
    Sydney J. Harris

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    10,240

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    The digital cable service from Oceanic Cable has remote control that can control the cable box but it can also can handle the TV, DVD, the audio system and an additional device.

    So far with my TV being known to the remote control I can turn on and off the TV, mute the TV, change the source of the signal, and have it display the info page of the TV.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    No. California
    Posts
    2,556

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    yeah, mine would do that too but it wouldn't adjust color etc. on my tv. only the TV remote would do that.
    "Democracy is the only system that persists in asking the powers that be whether they are the powers that ought to be."
    Sydney J. Harris

  5. #5

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    So, how is it done, what button is it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    10,240

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    I tried various things last night and I didn't find any option to adjust the color and I didn't say I found it, all the options I found I listed in my response.

    The only thing new I found out last night was I have a choice of where the TV source signal can come from.

    In any event the model of the Oceanic remote control I have is an Atlas DVR 1055 because I do know Oceanic does give out have different models.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    No. California
    Posts
    2,556

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Ron - if you were asking me: My Sony remote only works on a Sony TV. If you have another brand of TV, say a Toshiba -then your remote is going to be different. You should check out your TV manual to learn how to do it. I know that I just used the factory settings for mine when I got it 3 years ago and have never needed to change anything. Your tv is different than mine though I'm sure. It depends on the brand of TV that we have and has nothing to do with cable/satellite.
    "Democracy is the only system that persists in asking the powers that be whether they are the powers that ought to be."
    Sydney J. Harris

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Oahu now part of the traffic problem in lower Puna
    Posts
    8,415

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    On your TV remote there should be a "Setup" or "Menu" button or something similar along those lines.
    Life is what you make of it...so please read the instructions carefully.

  9. #9

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Went thru the menu and there's nothing for adjusting the color and such. But thanx for the input.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    No. California
    Posts
    2,556

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Ron - what brand is your TV? how old is your TV? are you looking at the remote that came with your TV or the one that came from Oceanic?

    and do you have the instruction manual for your TV?
    "Democracy is the only system that persists in asking the powers that be whether they are the powers that ought to be."
    Sydney J. Harris

  11. #11

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Quote Originally Posted by anapuni808 View Post
    Ron - what brand is your TV? how old is your TV? are you looking at the remote that came with your TV or the one that came from Oceanic, and do you have the instruction manual for your TV?
    Decade + old Magnavox Smart Series, no manual, only the Oceanic remote.
    I found this http://www.ehow.com/how_7699578_acce...-magnavox.html but the vol. buttons don't give a menu.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    No. California
    Posts
    2,556

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    well then, as far as I know - you are pretty much SOL on making adjustments from the Oceanic remote. but there are many wiser minds than mind on HT who can give you more advice. Or, you could just call Oceanic and ask them? also, you should have manual adjustments on the tv itself that should help I would think.
    "Democracy is the only system that persists in asking the powers that be whether they are the powers that ought to be."
    Sydney J. Harris

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    10,240

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Its been awhile since I have done this but what you need to do is to consult the manual that came with the remote control from Oceanic. There are table of codes that allow you to set the remote control to support the device in question.

    You can try this web link from Oceanic to see which remote control you have and the manual that goes with it:

    http://www.oceanic.com/help/digital/remote

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    No. California
    Posts
    2,556

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    or, and I know this is a really radical concept.............but you could just pick up the phone, call Oceanic and just ask them how to do it.

    there should also be some sort of control panel on the front of your TV, maybe behind a little door, that will alow you to push or turn buttons to make adjustments to your tv. Have you tried that method? I remember on my older tv's, thats what I had to do.
    Last edited by anapuni808; March 20th, 2012 at 11:30 PM.
    "Democracy is the only system that persists in asking the powers that be whether they are the powers that ought to be."
    Sydney J. Harris

  15. #15

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Stop making this easy, would you?!

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    No. California
    Posts
    2,556

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    I pick on you so often that I'm just trying to show you some love
    "Democracy is the only system that persists in asking the powers that be whether they are the powers that ought to be."
    Sydney J. Harris

  17. #17
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Waimanalo
    Posts
    771

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Oceanic probably gave you a little pamphlet with your remote that has numbers (different for each manufacturer) which have to be entered into the remote for each other device you want to control with the remote. If not, or if you can't find it, there may be a way of finding out the information from the Oceanic/TW web site, or it's even possible the your cable box has a program for doing this as part of its setup procedures. You'll have to find the number for the manufacturer of your TV and find the procedure for entering this number into the remote. The number is arbitrary and the procedure for entering it differs from remote to remote. I no longer have Oceanic cable equipment, and I can't recall the details.

    It might also be possible to set up the remote that came with your TV to work with the cable box. Most remotes for electronic equipment these days are "universal", in that they can be used not only for the device they came with, but also with a few other related devices (typically 3).

    Once you have told the Oceanic remote what brand TV you have, it should be possible to use it to change the TV's picture settings. You'll have to change the remote's mode (probably by pressing one of four buttons along the top), to tell it which device you want to send commands to.

    Edit: The Oceanic page with instructions on programming remotes is here: http://www.oceanic.com/help/analog/remote
    Last edited by GregLee; March 21st, 2012 at 02:33 PM.
    Greg

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    No. California
    Posts
    2,556

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Ok Ron - I made the telephone call for you! Your TV controls can only be changed ON YOUR TV. The Oceanic Remote is ONLY FOR THE CABLE CONNECTION and SIGNAL from Oceanic. It does NOT control the picture quality/color/contrast/etc. on your tv. If you had a new TV, with a newer "universal" type remote as Greg mentioned, then you could make those changes through your remote - but it would not be the OCEANIC REMOTE, it would be the remote that came with YOUR TV. That is where the difference lies. Hope this finally helps you out.

    I think you need to move into the new millenium and just get a new TV
    "Democracy is the only system that persists in asking the powers that be whether they are the powers that ought to be."
    Sydney J. Harris

  19. #19

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Awww, I'm almost having a Sally Fields moment!
    It is a new TV, to me, that's the problem. That, and the fact that I havn't gone back to the living room and asked if we have the remote...

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    No. California
    Posts
    2,556

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    all this for you and I don't even have Oceanic! I've been on Direct TV (satellite) for the last few years. but, I USED to have Oceanic.
    "Democracy is the only system that persists in asking the powers that be whether they are the powers that ought to be."
    Sydney J. Harris

  21. #21
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Waimanalo
    Posts
    771

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Quote Originally Posted by Ron Whitfield View Post
    It is a new TV, to me, that's the problem. That, and the fact that I havn't gone back to the living room and asked if we have the remote...
    It doesn't matter whether you still have a remote for the TV, and it doesn't matter whether that original remote was universal. If the TV originally came with a remote, it means the TV has an infrared sensor to detect remote signals. It may well be possible to control it with your cable remote. The web page that I referred you to does give a number of possible programming codes for Magnavox TVs. You could try them. I'm not convinced that you can't use your Oceanic remote to control the picture on your TV.
    Greg

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    No. California
    Posts
    2,556

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Greg - Oceanic said their remote will only control their signal, not tv settings such as color, contrast etc. That is not a function of their cable signal apparently.
    "Democracy is the only system that persists in asking the powers that be whether they are the powers that ought to be."
    Sydney J. Harris

  23. #23

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    I guess I'm OK with basic OCEANIC, I don't pay for it, and I watch too much TV as it is. I'd go nutsier if I had zillions of options to watch, all of them junk! But there are enuf basic channels and I like getting the AM/FM stations clear and with a blacked screen for sleeping, out here in the country. I'm happy campin'!

  24. #24
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Waimanalo
    Posts
    771

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    Quote Originally Posted by anapuni808 View Post
    Greg - Oceanic said their remote will only control their signal, not tv settings such as color, contrast etc. That is not a function of their cable signal apparently.
    Well, it is just not true that an Oceanic remote will not control TV settings. I did subscribe to Oceanic for at least 15 years (though I don't now), and I used several models of their remote. I programmed each and every one to control my TV. Honest.

    I think the Oceanic CSR you talked to misinterpreted your question. The cable box does not control picture adjustments like contrast, brightness, etc., and so, when you use the cable remote to control the cable box, then you can't control those adjustments. But the cable remote is a universal remote, so it can be set to control the picture settings through the TV. (And it can also control a VCR or DVD or CD player, and probably an audio device, as well.)

    The TV can control the picture settings. The cable remote can control the TV, so you can use the cable remote to control the picture settings.
    Greg

  25. #25

    Default Re: oceanic tv remote adjust

    oooooooo, the cable intrigue continues!
    Maybe they're still open so I can call, unless ana wants to cover that for me, again...?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •