Advertiser e-headlines and search

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advertiser e-headlines and search

Is anyone else a subscriber to the headline service? Suddenly a week or so ago I stopped getting anything but the mail header. No links to articles, no nothin'. I've corresponded with Chris Kanemura, the Content manager, and he/she can't find any glitches at their end. Since I've been using the same mail client since about 1997 with no changes to the filters for the paper, I don't get it.

Secondly, does anyone else think that search engine at the Advertiser could be vastly improved? A week ago there was a big story about 30 years of Aloha Stadium, yet when I tried to find it through search (using "Aloha Stadium," then "Thirty Years of Aloha," and a bunch of other terms) I couldn't find it.
    http://www.linkmeister.com/wordpress/

Re: Advertiser e-headlines and search

Originally posted by Linkmeister
    A week ago there was a big story about 30 years of Aloha Stadium, yet when I tried to find it through search (using "Aloha Stadium," then "Thirty Years of Aloha," and a bunch of other terms) I couldn't find it.
    I went to Google and entered "Honolulu Advertiser Thirty Years of Aloha Stadium," and found the articles. Second link on the page was the timeline that ran as a sidebar, which led me to the main story.

Maybe it's just better to use Google to search the Advertiser website?

Comment

Originally posted by Palolo Joe
      Maybe it's just better to use Google to search the Advertiser website?
      That's what I do. Says a lot about what's great about Google, and a lot about what's lacking on the Advertiser's own system.

I'm surprised, though. I would've thought things would've inproved noticably since since their switch to an automated content management system (Publicus). If anything, the trade off for those ugly, database-value-clogged URLs and occasional machine errors was supposed to be better indexing and faster page rendering.