Presumptuous or respectful?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Presumptuous or respectful?

My ohana is new to the Big Island. We have lived in several unusual places and I was an exchange student in France when I was in high school. I am very interested in other cultures and languages. I was intrigued to learn that there are Hawaiian-immersion preschools here (we have a 3-year-old). Maybe I should mention we are white...and my son is blond and blue-eyed. My point is, we plan for our son to grow up here. It seems to me that he should learn the language and customs of his adopted home. I don't know that he would even be accepted to a Punana Leo preschool, but is it presumptuous to apply? Are we being supportive/assimilative? Or sort of colonial and wanting something that properly "belongs" to Hawaiians alone? Mahalo for your thoughts.

Re: Presumptuous or respectful?

My first advice is to try to apply and see what happens. If you get in great, if not well at least you tried.

Unless of course you have the feeling that the people who run the Punana Leo preschool be offended by anyone attempting to apply to the school?

Comment

The very fact that you're asking about this seems to be a good indicator that you are approaching this with the right attitude -- respectful and wishing to learn. There's no racial barrier to learning and speaking the Hawaiian language. Go for it. Just don't pretend to actually be Hawaiian, because you're not and you will never be.

Comment

Originally posted by helen View Post
        My first advice is to try to apply and see what happens. If you get in great, if not well at least you tried.

Unless of course you have the feeling that the people who run the Punana Leo preschool be offended by anyone attempting to apply to the school?