Ferry?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ferry?

Is there a ferry between Oahu and Kauai? If we get to make the move I'll be living in Honolulu but i would love to do regular camping and backpacking trips in Kauai? Is there a ferry or other boat service or is flying the only option?

Re: Ferry?

No ferry. The water in the channel between Oahu and Kauai is wickedly rough and choppy almost every single day of the year!

That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

Comment

There were Hawaii SuperFerrys, now defunct.
      Did go between Oahu and Maui and was supposed to also go to Kauai and the Big Island... maybe more.

There are 6 chapters about the SuperFerry on Hawaii Threads.
      From the beginning
      Life is either an adventure... or you're not doing it right!!!

Comment

Yeah, I though about mentioning the SuperFerry but thought it might confuse our newbie here. It only made, what, one single run to Kauai plus the second run that got turned around without landing, and that was several years ago. But yes, our newbie will find interesting reading in the SuperFerry threads.

That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

Comment

You might want to check out the threads that were tagged with superferry. It spans at least 9 threads across two forums.

Comment

Hmmm...how ironic. Kamehameha couldn't traverse that route, SuperFerry couldn't either. But a mainland outfit named Young Brothers did.
            Life is what you make of it...so please read the instructions carefully.

Comment

Do you remember the Boeing hydrofoils? They were something and great when they worked (1970’s) but the rough channels did them in. They would break down all the time and then they would serve the passengers free drinks while they waited to be rescued. I rode on one once to Kauai and back and it worked fine on that trip--no free drinks for me.That went on for awhile until they decided the channels were too rough indeed and then no more hydrofoils.